RSA South Africa

South Africa national events

Everdinand Knol

Everdinand Knol

Everdinand Knol

Other Contact Marius Jacques Fourie

Article provided by: Leonard Reitstein and Dinand Knol

Historical background

In 1934 Huxley St. John-Brooks founded the South African Correspondence Chess Association (SACCA). This was the first national chess body that ever existed in South Africa. The first counter-part in over the board chess only came into existence 14 years later in 1948 when the South African Chess Federation was founded.

SACCA is still in existence today as the one and only national correspondence chess (CC) body. The membership has never been very numerous as it must be kept in mind that the climate in this country is very user friendly. With over 300 days of sunshine per year, outdoor activities get all the support.

The administration of SACCA has always been in the hands of a committee consisting of a president, vice president and secretary. The latter runs the day to day activities with the former two supervising and ensuring that all the members’ interests are upheld. The present committee is:

    President and ICCF Delegate: Everdinand Knol
    Vice-president: Vacant (after the sudden death of Pieter Kemp)
    Secretary: Iain Edward Smuts

Activities for Members

Members can participate in single and double round robin events and receive a national rating. Thematic tournaments are also held from time to time. Friendly team matches against other national federations (NF) have also been held over the years.

The only events of significant stature are the national championships. These consist of round robin tournaments made up of member players who qualified over a period of time as well as “wild cards” invited by the committee. The maximum number of participants (excepting for the 1950-52 event) has been 16.

The 4th national championship (1950-52) was a special one. A total of 53 participants who qualified or were invited took part in the largest correspondence chess tournament ever held in South Africa. There were nine preliminary groups with a maximum of six players each playing a double round robin. This was followed by a final single round robin of 12 players. Chris J Hayes – one of the greatest CC players that our country has ever produced – eventually won the event.

A book entitled “South African Correspondence Chess Championship Tournament 1950-1952” was written and published by our former president Leonard Raymond Reitstein. It is the only book published in South Africa pertaining to CC.

During 1998, a new event in the form of a national open championship was launched. Here the format of six player double round robin preliminary events and a single round robin final was adhered to. The tournament was open to all players and was won by Everdinand Knol.

National CC Champions of South Africa

No     Period     Champions
1st     1935 – 1936     H Guvland and JJ Leicher
2nd     1936 – 1937     C Coopersmith
3rd     1937 – 1939     I Goldslaff
4th     1950 – 1952     Chris J Hayes
5th     1954 – 1955     JE Eriksen
6th     1955 – 1956     Kenneth F Kirby
7th     1957 – 1958     Kenneth F Kirby
8th     1959 – 1960     Leonard Raymond Reitstein
9th     1961 – 1962     L Wilken
10th     1962 – 1963     RF Griffiths
11th     1964 – 1965     NW King
12th     1965 – 1966     I Friedman
13th     1967 – 1969     John A Barlow
14th     1969 – 1971     BP Donnelly
15th     1971 – 1973     BP Donnelly
16th     1973 – 1975     BP Donnelly
17th     1976 – 1978     BP Donnelly
18th     1979 – 1983     VE Justus
19th     1985 – 1986     VE Justus and N Preece
20th     1987 – 1988     George SP Oosthuizen
21st     1989 – 1990     Dr HL (Boet) Bösenberg & Erwin Feilmayr
22nd     1991 – 1992     Erwin Feilmayr
23rd     1993 – 1996     Everdinand Knol
24th     1997 – 2001     Everdinand Knol and Dieter T Morschel
25th     2000 – 2003     Pieter Kemp
26th     2002 – 2006     Everdinand Knol
27th     2004 – 2006     Ben Bester
28th     2006 – 2009     Iain Edward Smuts
29th     2010 – 2011     Iain Edward Smuts

ICCF Titles and Medals Awarded to SACCA Members

Year     Member     Description
1997     John A Barlow     IM
2000     John A Barlow     SIM
2001     John A Barlow     GM
2002     Everdinand Knol     IM
2002     Pieter Kemp     IM
2003     Everdinand Knol     SIM
2004     Pieter Kemp     SIM
2010     Everdinand Knol     Bertl von Massow Silver Medal
2011     Iain Edward Smuts     IA
2012     Ben Bester     IA

IM=International CC Master; SIM=Senior International CC Master; GM=CC Grandmaster; IA=International Arbiter of the ICCF

ICCF Olympiads

South Africa has participated in all the preliminaries of the CC Olympiads since the 12th one that started in 1991. The details of our teams are as follows:

Board     ICCF Olympiad
    12th Olympiad – Section 2
1     Dr Arthur Albert Ponelis (Captain)
2     Erwin Feilmayr
3     George SP Oosthuizen
4     JMdeK (Jannie) Knipe
5     Everdinand Knol
6     KJG (Koos) Bultman
    13th Olympiad – Section 4
1     Dr Arthur Albert Ponelis (Captain)
2     Everdinand Knol
3     JMdeK (Jannie) Knipe
4     Dirk J Terblanche
5     JT (Hansie) Benadé
6     MG (Tiens) van Greuning
    14th Olympiad – Section 3
1     John A Barlow
2     Dr Arthur Albert Ponelis (Captain)
3     Everdinand Knol
4     AG (Abrie) van Wyk
5     JT (Hansie) Benadé
6     Pieter Kemp
    15th Olympiad – Section 1
1     John A Barlow
2     Everdinand Knol
3     Pieter Kemp
4     Dr Arthur Albert Ponelis
5     Laurence Ball
6     Iain Edward Smuts (Captain)
    16th Olympiad – Section 2
1     John A Barlow
2     Pieter Kemp
3     Everdinand Knol
4     André de Beer
    Iain Edward Smuts (non playing captain)
    17th Olympiad – Section 4
1     Pieter Kemp
2     Everdinand Knol
3     Dr Arthur Albert Ponelis
4     Dieter T Morschel
5     Ben Bester
6     Iain Edward Smuts (Captain)
    18th Olympiad – Section 1
1     John A Barlow
2     Ben Bester
3     Marius J Fourie
4     Pieter Kemp
5     Everdinand Knol
6     Iain Edward Smuts (Captain)
    19th Olympiad – Section 3
1     Everdinand Knol (Captain)
2     Dr Arthur Albert Ponelis
3     Iain Edward Smuts
4     Hector A Cronje

ICCF Congress 2012

South Africa is the host for the 2012 ICCF Congress that has been scheduled to take place in Pretoria at the Roodevallei Lodge from 28 October to 3 November. All the necessary arrangements and co-ordinations are being handled by SACCA. The ICCF Congress website is continuously updated at http://southafricacca.webs.com/iccf-congress-2012

Dinand Knol – President and ICCF Delegate for South Africa and Zone 4 Africa/Asia Director


Top Players
PlaceICCF IDTitleNameRating

1 550048 SIM Glatthaar, Michael2408
2 550125 IM Fourie, Marius Jacques2401
3 550040 SIM Knol, Everdinand2383
4 550126 CCM Opperman, Ron2320
5 550131 CCM Wellen, Loyd2312
6 550075 CCE Cronjé, Hector Albert2245
7 550262 CCE Bester, Alan2225
8 550190 van Zyl, Marius2183
9 421316 CCE Długołęcki, Grzegorz2160
10 550143 Jordaan, Wayne1972

Complete South Africa rating list
Log in

Forgot password

New Player